Good Morning!

When I was just leisurely going through some Psalms today I noticed how many times the Bible talks about the morning. The morning is a new start of a new day. Each morning we can decide for ourselves what to do with our day: walk around grumpy because it rains, or dance in the rain like no one’s watching.

Psalm 118:24 This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.

We can say this EVERY day! Every day was made by our God. He enjoys it when He sees us living our lives here on planet earth. And we may also rejoice and be glad! What a blessing! Of course I do not always see it as such. Today is just a good day. Tomorrow might be different. But on the good days, I can sometimes experience this joy that God talks about. When I read in His word, I can get so encouraged from some simple verses:

Psalm 139:18 Were I to count them (God’s thoughts), they would outnumber the grains of sand. When I awake, I am still with you.

This verse encourages me today to consciously start my mornings with God. What would happen if I’d start doing that the coming week? If I would wake up 15 minutes earlier each day to contemplate His word, or to simply ‘be still with Him’?! Let’s try it out. I’m jotting down in my agenda now: TIME WITH GOD seven times. My hope is this: to get closer to Him in my own way. Discovering what works for me.

Psalm 143:8 Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.

For a couple of months now I have desperately been trying to get closer to God. To experience His guidance in my life. To feel His love. To know He is with me. To realize He does not leave me alone. So far I feel I have not come very far. Today is quite different though. I feel encouraged. I acknowledge not knowing everything, and that being okay.

The difference? Today I joined a woman’s walk with a friend. The theme was: God’s  promises for you. You could sign up as friends or walk alone. We walked through beautiful forest area, we talked, we prayed, we encouraged each other, we experienced the silence of nature. We enjoyed God’s creation. It was altogether wonderful. It helped me being even more sure that this is what I want to do: starting a study in the field of coaching in the natural environment. I finally made the decision and signed up!

Psalm 143:10 Teach me to do your will, for you are my God; may your good Spirit lead me on level ground.

Today I feel that God is doing just that. I am still not sure where I am going. But that’s okay: God is going there with me. And even though I often wish I would be a better daughter of God, I know He does not ‘disown me’, just because I did not do exactly as He said. He never would. He loves me, just as He loves every other human being. And today was a day that I got to experience that. I somehow know it deep down. I feel peaceful. I can find rest in Him.

Psalm 5:3 In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.

What a promise: he hears our voice! Let’s now just wait for the morning. And if things are not as we want them to be: there is always another morning, another day!

Leave a Reply

